- Days left

Hold a garage sale? Be prepared to pay double for the permit

Garage sales are a popular way for people to earn some quick cash while getting rid of stuff they no longer want. But some towns are hiking their fees for holding yard sales, cutting into residents' profits.

Bloomfield, N.J., more than doubled its garage sale permit fee this year to $25 from $10. So what happens if residents don't pay? They could be fined up to $100 and imprisoned for up to 10 days, according to the town's ordinance. But Glenn Domenick, Bloomfield's director of community development, told the Star-Ledger, "We try not to prosecute people for something like that."

Raising garage sale fees can bring in a little more revenue for local governments, but in most cases the increase would be pretty insignificant. In Bloomfield the $10 garage sale fee raised $2,340 last year. Even if the town saw the same number of garage sales this year, it would only generate an extra $3,510 in revenue.


Some Bloomfield residents are annoyed by the fee increase, while others have taken it in stride. While other communities have fees similar to and even higher than Bloomfield's, attempts to raise more revenue this way don't always go over so well. When Texas City, Texas, proposed a $10 garage sale fee, plus another $25 to put up signs, residents raised a stink. As a result, the town decided not to require the fee, but will restrict the number of signs that can be posted.

Of course there are some people who don't even bother to get a permit before holding a garage sale, no matter what the rules are where they live. In many cases unauthorized garage sales fly under the radar of official government business, but not always. A few years back we learned the hard way that it pays to get a garage sale permit when a local cop rolled up to our driveway with all of the signs we'd posted around town. It honestly hadn't occurred to us that we needed a permit. Apparently he was making the rounds of several illegal garage sales that day based upon all the signs I saw in the backseat of his car. After we moved to our current home and I called the town office to ask about yard sale permits, the woman on the phone laughed and said no one had asked her that before. I was all too happy to hold my garage sale permit-free.

Nevertheless, it will pay off for you to inquire about any fees your city might charge before holding your own garage sale. No sense in holding one if you're going to be dinged $100 or more.

Increase your money and finance knowledge from home

How much house can I afford

Home buying 101, evaluating one of your most important financial decisions.

View Course »

How to Buy a Car

How to get the best deal and buy a car with confidence.

View Course »

TurboTax Articles

What is a 1098-E: Student Loan Interest

If you're currently paying off a student loan, you may get Form 1098-E in the mail from each of your lenders. Your lenders have to report how much interest you pay annually. Student loan interest can be deductible on federal tax returns, but receiving a 1098-E doesn't always mean you're eligible to take the deduction.

Amending Your Income Tax Return

What if you've sent in your income tax return for a previous year and then discover you made a mistake? You can make things right by filing an amended tax return. And, don't think an amended return will automatically cost you money; it's perfectly okay to change a return to capture a tax break you missed the first time around.

How to File Taxes with IRS Form 1099-MISC

If you receive tax form 1099-MISC for services you provide to a client as an independent contractor and the annual payments you receive total $400 or more, you'll need to file your taxes a little differently than a taxpayer who only receives regular employment income reported on a W-2.

Add a Comment

*0 / 3000 Character Maximum