- Days left
Education credits are available to those who are enrolled in post-secondary education leading to degrees. You can claim either the Hope Credit or the Lifetime Learning Credit, but both cannot be claimed in the same year. You can claim the credit for yourself, your spouse, and your dependents. If you claim your child as a dependent, that child cannot claim the credit for himself or herself.

The Hope Credit can be claimed for the first two years only of college or vocational school for a student that is enrolled at leas half-time for at least one academic period during the year. The maximum credit is $1,650 per student, including 100% of the first $1,100 of qualified tuition and related fees paid during the tax year, plus 50% of the next $1,100.

The Lifetime Learning Credit can be claimed for any year of study in any undergraduate, graduate, or professional degree course. The credit is equal to 20% of the first $10,000 of tuition and fees, up to a maximum of $2,000 per tax return.

If the student has any federal or state felony convictions for possessing or distributing drugs, neither credit can be claimed. The credits are also phased out for higher levels of income. More information can be found in Publication 970, Tax Benefits for Education.

Tracy L. Coenen, CPA, MBA, CFE performs fraud examinations and financial investigations for her company Sequence Inc. Forensic Accounting, and is the author of Essentials of Corporate Fraud.

Increase your money and finance knowledge from home

Managing your Portfolio

Keeping your portfolio and financial life fit!

View Course »

How to Avoid Financial Scams

Avoid getting duped by financial scams.

View Course »

TurboTax Articles

Amending Your Income Tax Return

What if you've sent in your income tax return for a previous year and then discover you made a mistake? You can make things right by filing an amended tax return. And, don't think an amended return will automatically cost you money; it's perfectly okay to change a return to capture a tax break you missed the first time around.

How to File Taxes with IRS Form 1099-MISC

If you receive tax form 1099-MISC for services you provide to a client as an independent contractor and the annual payments you receive total $400 or more, you'll need to file your taxes a little differently than a taxpayer who only receives regular employment income reported on a W-2.

What If I Did Not File My State Taxes?

At the time of this writing, the only states that do not charge a state income tax are Alaska, Florida, Nevada, New Hampshire, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Washington and Wyoming. If you live or earn money in one of the other 41 states or the District of Columbia, you may need to file a state income tax return by April 15. It is a separate and independent requirement from filing your federal tax return and failure to file it on time may result in interest and penalty charges.

Add a Comment

*0 / 3000 Character Maximum